The Port Lincoln Aboriginal Health Service Inc. was established in 1992 with the assistance of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission and the South Australian Health Commission through the National Aboriginal Health Strategy.

The Board of Management is responsible for the decisions made in relation to the Port Lincoln Aboriginal Health Service and may be elected annually by members of the Aboriginal Community of Port Lincoln at the Annual General Meeting. Members are elected for a period of 3-5 years. The Board then elects the Office Bearers and committee members accordingly for a period of 12 months.

We work with various other services including the Ceduna/Koonibba Aboriginal Health Service, Tullawon (Yalata) Health Service Inc., Oak Valley Aboriginal Health Service; Eyre Regional Health Services, as well as the Aboriginal Health Division (SA Government) and Department of Health & Ageing (DOHA) (Commonwealth) and recently Department of Prime Minister & Cabinet (DPMC).

As a local committee, the Port Lincoln Aboriginal Health Service is also involved in and represented on the Aboriginal Health Council of SA Inc. (AHCSA) and the National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation (NACCHO).


The Port Lincoln Aboriginal Health Service will strive to maintain our autonomy and cultural identity as an Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Service whilst delivering quality, holistic primary health care services to the Aboriginal community.


To provide leadership, direction and support on community health issues and to strengthen the capacity of individuals, families and communities to improve the health and social wellbeing of our people